Keep the faith

After the slightly negative tone of the last note, I thought I should report on a few positives.  First and most uplifting of all is the sight of my sage plants in full flower.  This is the bush I pruned hard last autumn as it had become a bit woody and the result is a re-vitalisation.

SAMSUNG

Alongside its place in lots of traditional British recipes, I love using sage in Italian dishes and a few leaves fried crisp make a fantastic temper for beans, dhals and hummus.  The bees love the nectar, of course, and there are few more soothing sounds than the happy buzz of their industry while I work.  The flowers will fade just about the time the oregano and marjoram is in full flower.  I’ve wondered whether the herbs can be tasted in the honey.  Must ask Jeff the Hive next time he comes to collect a swarm.  Incidentally, the day rose in front of it is there because it reminds me of holidays in Portugal.  Alongside the flowers, there is a rich, herby/piney scent which covers the plot.

The warm weather has also reinvigorated the blackcurrant bushes I planted in the spring.  I had reconciled myself to losing one of them after the shoots were nipped.  But there must have been enough strength in the roots for another effort.

SAMSUNG

The potatoes are also looking strong – so should I lift one of the flowering plants?  Interestingly, the second-earlies are further on than the firsts.  Think I will as this year I’ve decided to sacrifice quantity and take the spuds early and at their best.

SAMSUNG

 

Leave a comment